About Us


The Keewatin Tribal Council represents eleven member reserves located in Northern Manitoba . The mandate of KTC is to promote, advance and protect the interests of its eleven member First Nations, and is intended to maintain, strengthen, enhance, lobby for and defend the rights of northern Manitoba First Nations people within its jurisdiction. KTC maintains an office in Thompson with a sub-office in Winnipeg.

The Keewatin Tribal Council consists of the following member First Nations: Barren Lands (Brochet), Fox Lake (Bird), God’s Lake, Manto Sipi (God’s River), Northlands (Lac Brochet), Bunibonibee (Oxford House), Sayisi Dene (Tadoule Lake), Tataskweyak (Split Lake), Shamattawa First Nation, War Lake (Ilford) and York Factory (York Landing). Approximately 10,000 people live in these communities.

KTC was selected as one of six Regional Management Organizations for the First Nations SchoolNet Program, delivered by Industry Canada . As a Regional Management Organizations it continues to provide services to participating schools and will support schools that have yet to be connected.